Interview with the work camper: Gary Hung

Today we have an interview with our work camper: Gary Hung. Let`s check what he says about the work camp 🙂

What is a “work camp” for you?

There are three things that I enjoy about the work camps.

  1. Friends from different countries. I got new friends in the camp. I work with them, improve my English and get a motivation for studying other languages.
  2. Work. I have planted trees and did painting. I have never done this in Hong Kong and I am very happy to try some new things in the work camp.
  3. Independence in another country. I have never been to Turkey, got here alone and I have to take care of myself. It is my first time that I travel abroad without my family &friends. My parents didn`t support me in going here at first but they are really happy now cause I am safe and satisfied.

Actually, I enjoy such projects cause I can explore myself while I am out of the comfort zone. It is a great challenge for me.

Why did you decide to go to the work camp?

Going to the camp is an unforgettable experience. It is the only chance for me to be in such camp (in my life!) cause we are too busy for going for such a long-term projects in Hong Kong.

I have done a lot of things earlier: internships, orientational camps and I have done a lot at University in Hong Kong. But I didn’t do anything outside the Hong Kong. I wanted to go abroad and to do something meaningful there.

In fact, I had 2 variants: Turkey and Lithuania. These 2 work camps are similar cause they are related to the environment. I chose Turkey cause Lithuania is more remote and Turley is more modern, I think. That`s why I am here.

20289581_1392868557499364_1505226186_n.jpgIs it your first volunteering experience?

This isn`t my first volunteering. In Hong Kong, I was teaching kids.

Also, I love environmental projects but there is no opportunity to do such kind of work in my city.

Could you describe the process before coming to the work camp (how did you decide to come here, the selection process, how did you get to the camp)?

In March I decided to do something valuable outside my country. I searched on the Internet for the opportunities: where I can go and how. I liked the idea of volunteering in Turkey. I found the organization called “Voltra” in Hong Kong and applied for the program. I have been waiting until May and then I got the confirmation. Before going to the work camp (in 1 month) I got the info sheet and a document for signing, also there was information on how to get to Kırklareli. The instructions were very clear, so it was easy for me.

Have you done anything for the first time in the work camp?

Tree planting, painting, flower planting — I have never done it before.

What was the most memorable event on the camp?

Visiting the cave. I have never been to any caves before and I was amazed by its nature. It was very astonishing and unforgettable.

IMG_7281.jpgYou are a Vegan. Did you enjoy the cuisine? Did you have any difficulties with food?

I know that it is very difficult to find food for me. But I am thankful to the Ministry for caring about me. I like food and I have enough of it.

What is my favorite food?

I like rice, soup, and bread. It is very delicious. In Hong Kong, there is also soup but it is saltier, so I like Turkish more. I am used to the food, actually, cause there is also a lot of rice and bread in Hong Kong.

Have you learned something on the work camp? Which skills have you gained here?

I have met new friends from different countries. I communicated with them and learned how to say various words in different languages. It is new for me cause I can`t learn Russian at the university and I teach the campers Chinese and Cantonese.

Also, I have learned about the plants: names and the origin (when we went to the Botanical Garden). I have never seen them in real.

I have met here the Turkish people: they are very nice, kind to me and it is very great to spend time with them.

20273222_1392868624166024_2050213595_o.jpgWhat problems have you faced on the work camp? Did you have any arguments with others?

I got some problems cause I have poor English, so it is difficult for me sometimes. My pronunciation isn`t good and people don`t understand me from time to time. Actually, I am not a talkative person, I am shy. Maybe I should speak more with others.

Have you improved your English?

I think that, yes, cause I don`t use Cantonese. Except for English, I learn Turkish and Russian, as well ☺

What do you miss on the work camp the most?

I miss Hong Kong. I don’t really like my city but there are my parents and friends.

Did your expectations meet reality?

Before going to the work camp, I expected that I would work hard.The work is interesting and we work like 2-3 hours per day. My expectations didn`t meet the reality (in a good way) cause I thought that I would work like a slave. But I really enjoy working. I expected to meet new friends and I did that. Also, I enjoy the environmental work cause I can stay in tune with nature. For example, planting a tree is like bearing a new life and I am making them alive minimum for 10 years.

20273308_1392868994165987_1677861562_o.jpg

What would you advise to other volunteers who want to visit the camp?

  • They should learn some basic language in that country, just simple “Hello” and “Good Bye”.
  • To avoid bad words in the language.
  • Be open minded to other nations (I feel that I am a bit close minded) but this work camp helped to change myself.

About Gary:

1233Hello, everybody!

My name is Gary. I am from Hong Kong. I study at the Chinese University of Hong Kong and my major is Chemistry. I love doing volunteering works, especially related to the environmental protection. Also, I enjoy traveling around the world because I can broaden my horizon and meet new friends from different countries. What is special about me? I am a vegan. I have been becoming a vegan for 1 year.

Hope that you enjoyed reading the article!

 

 

By Daria Babik


Leave a comment